#8 Eban Got Fired

#8 Eban got fired

Eban was the saucier at Citrus on Melrose in West Hollywood. Citrus was a very popular California French restaurant owned by Michel Richard, a well regarded pastry chef-turned chef. On my last day as a student intern at Citrus, Eban was fired and I was offered his job. Now, Eban was a cook from New York–one of those pussies from the CIA 🙂 He thought he was “the man”. Fortunately, he was a good cook. Just too obnoxious for Alain Giraud, the chef d’cuisine. When I did my trail on Sauce station Eban would say things like, “throw a little of this and a little of that in there and give it a stirry, stir, stir”. Eban wore a hemp necklace (before it was cool) and he was always slightly rumpled like he just rolled out of bed. He was uniquely handsome with dark skin, longish sandy blond hair and a relaxed accuracy that I desperately wanted to learn. A little too arrogant, his personality killed his chances at Citrus. I don’t remember exactly what he said to the Chef that got him canned. I just remember Duane (the meat guy) looking at me smiling while he said “he’s fucked now”.

After he got fired, some of us went drinking. We danced to bad jukebox music and listened to his plans to return to New York and “kick ass”. I remember kissing him on a deserted street at 3 o’clock that morning–the Santa Ana winds rustling through the bushes. It was a warm and silent morning in LA. The air felt electric, I felt alive and terrified because I knew that in a few hours the saucier station was going to mine. He kissed me a lot and told me I would do fine. I got in my car and never saw him again. Thanks for the job Eban. I did fine.

~ by abmccune on May 8, 2010.

One Response to “#8 Eban Got Fired”

  1. Wow, this is awesome. I love this!

Leave a Reply

 
